Flatter your figure

Body Type

How do you choose the clothes you wear or sew? Do you just buy what is on trend? Do you know whether that garment flatters your figure or does the opposite? To answer these questions you have to know your body type.  Once you know that then you can dress your body any way you want, create the flawless silhouette, enhance your features or camouflage them, your choice. Most blogs talk about the basic six body types:

The Rectangle, Oval, Figure-Eight, Hourglass, Triangle, and Inverted Triangle

And there are several different names for each as well, such as Pear shape for Triangle, or Boyish for Rectangle or some scientific names like Ectomorph, etc., however, I have noticed that less people are aware of another classification of Figure Types:

1) Vertical Figure Types, these proportions are inherited – it has to do with the alignment of your bone structure from head to toe:

O = The ideal silhouette – perfect vertical proportions,

A = short torso / long-legs. The body is longer from hips to feet than head to hips.

B = Long-torso / shorter-legs

C = as “mid-body” short

2) Horizontal Figure Types:

“1” – fullest proportion is in the bust

“2”-  fullest proportion is in the waist

“3” – fullest proportion is in the hip

“0” – Ideal, well proportioned

Here is a picture to help you visually.

Vertical Figure Types

Vertical Figure Types

So, a woman can be C3,’mid-body short’ and fullest part in the hip.  This will help her better determine what clothing will be best for her figure both horizontally and vertically.  I will write a series of posts to teach you about each combination and how to dress to create a flawless silhouette.

There are so many details to consider as well. For example not all pear shaped figures are the same you need to take into consideration the vertical type and also the profile details such as protruding derriere and/or swaybacked vs, flat derrier. Long neck vs. short neck, rounded and/or sloping shoulders.  My goal is to help you understand your contours and the best clothing choices to maximize the parts of your body that you like a lot, and move the eye away from a challenging area.  This is called ‘the art of illusion’ – creating a body that looks ideally proportioned.  I will try to illustrate that with everything I sew (own or purchase),  will tell you why I chose the style and what body type will benefit from it or who should stay away from the design.  I will also show you how to figure out your own body type with the help of a friend if you do not want to hire an Image Consultant.  So, stay tuned.


About Mokara

Hi, Thanks for stopping by. I grew up watching my mom sew, I always enjoyed what she made, until.... I turned 17 & I wanted my skirts a little shorter or the dress tighter & she’d argue with me :) & guess who won? Well, she was making it for me so she had the control & I had to do something about it. I learned pattern making & sewing. I loved it so much that I went ahead and got a degree in Fashion Design, I became a wardrobe and image consultant and basically I'm addicted to clothes :)) I have been told I am a perpetual student, and I love to share my knowledge. I enjoy recreating high fashion garments that otherwise I cannot afford and love to do the same for my clients. Enjoy my posts and be sure to drop a line xoxo
This entry was posted in Body Type and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flatter your figure

  1. Pingback: How to pick the right swimwear for your body type | Flawless Silhouette

Leave a Reply

