Five figure issues and how to minimize by dressing correctly

I get a lot of questions about these five issues, so I thought it would be a good topic to talk about.  This one is very brief, but I will be talking a lot more about the specifics in my future blogs.

1) Full upper arms:
Use sleeve designs that will cover the arms, like dolman or kimono, stylish and covered;  also you can use three quarter length sleeves. Avoid sheer, short or tight sleeves. If the weather is hot & you have to wear short sleeves avoid any cuffs. You can also use dominance elsewhere to divert the eye away from your arms.  I have seen a product that I think is a great addition for many dresses, it is called Amazing Arms. My friend used it and she loved it. I’m planning on buying those for my mom. Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h36dHeXNQq4

2) Protruding abdomen:
Wear tops that come over your lower garment. Do not tuck in your top. Avoid tight
waistbands or belts. Make sure the skirt is not bulky, gathered at waist or bias-cut.  Basically, avoid any excessive fabric in that area. Skirts are better than pants.

3) Large thighs:
Try to conceal them with A-line skirts or pants with straight legs with plenty of room.
Choose fabrics that are lighter and move easily.

4) Small bust:
Add volume in that area, wear shirts with ruffles or tucks, patch pockets or any layered
looks. The undergarments can play a role as well, wear padded bras.

5) Short neck / double chin:
Try to elongate your neck (visually) by wearing open necklines, V-necks are great. Keep your hair short and off the neck. Necklaces have to be longer (depending on your chest size.) Avoid turtlenecks or any high collars.

I hope this helps.  If you have a question, please be sure to post it in the comments area.  Thanks for reading and happy Mother’s Day!

About Mokara

Hi, Thanks for stopping by. I grew up watching my mom sew, I always enjoyed what she made, until.... I turned 17 & I wanted my skirts a little shorter or the dress tighter & she’d argue with me :) & guess who won? Well, she was making it for me so she had the control & I had to do something about it. I learned pattern making & sewing. I loved it so much that I went ahead and got a degree in Fashion Design, I became a wardrobe and image consultant and basically I'm addicted to clothes :)) I have been told I am a perpetual student, and I love to share my knowledge. I enjoy recreating high fashion garments that otherwise I cannot afford and love to do the same for my clients. Enjoy my posts and be sure to drop a line xoxo
This entry was posted in Body Type, Your Wardrobe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

