Choose the Right Bra: Do you know what size you are?

Many women, perhaps even most, are wearing the wrong size of bra.  Perhaps it was once the correct size, but weight can change, elastic loses elasticity, and gravity does its wok over the years–meaning you should check your bra size periodically and replace ageing undergarments with new ones.

Measure for Correct Fit

Get a tape measure and determine your correct bra size while wearing a bra:

  1. Measure around the rib cage just below the breasts. Round to the nearest whole inch.  Add 4 inches to an even number or 5 inches to an odd number to get your band size.
  2. Measure the fullest part of your bust, keeping the measuring tape parallel to the floor. Round this number to the nearest whole inch.
  3. Subtract your band size from your bust measurement. This difference will be used to determine the proper cup size.

Find the Right Cup Size

If the difference in your two measurements is half an inch or less, your cup size is AA.  A difference up to 1 inch is an A cup.  2 inches equals B, 3 inches equals C, and 4 equals D.  After D, manufacturers may vary, so check the size chart for the brand you are considering if you are a well-endowed lady.

 

Check the Fit

Try on a bra in the size you measured to check the fit.  The band should be firm and snug when hooked at the loosest hooks (this allows you to tighten the band as the elastic stretches with age and washings.)  There should be no riding up in the back (band too loose) or flesh spilling over the sides (band too tight.)  Cups should fit smoothly, without bulges around the edges.  If you need to go down in band size, you might go up a cup size and vice versa.  Then you can also try different styles and see which is the most comfortable for you, I, for instance need a style with underwire and high center gore (the part that sits between the two cups).

Start with your measurements, then try on for a fine-tuned perfect fit.

Thanks for stopping by :)

 

About Mokara

Hi, Thanks for stopping by. I grew up watching my mom sew, I always enjoyed what she made, until.... I turned 17 & I wanted my skirts a little shorter or the dress tighter & she’d argue with me :) & guess who won? Well, she was making it for me so she had the control & I had to do something about it. I learned pattern making & sewing. I loved it so much that I went ahead and got a degree in Fashion Design, I became a wardrobe and image consultant and basically I'm addicted to clothes :)) I have been told I am a perpetual student, and I love to share my knowledge. I enjoy recreating high fashion garments that otherwise I cannot afford and love to do the same for my clients. Enjoy my posts and be sure to drop a line xoxo
This entry was posted in Fit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choose the Right Bra: Do you know what size you are?

  1. Jeni says:

    I always wondered how to take my measurements. Thanks for the post. I’m sure it will be a big help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

